June 16, 2024 6:45 am

SE La QB Kelley, ETSU RB Holmes Leads AP FCS All-Americans

By RALPH D. RUSSO, AP College Football Writer

Southeastern Louisiana quarterback Cole Kelley, East Tennessee State running back Quay Holmes and Montana State linebacker Troy Andersen highlight The Associated Press FCS All-America team released Tuesday.

Kelley and Holmes are among the finalists for the Walter Payton Award, given to the most outstanding player in the NCAA’s Championship Subdivision. Andersen is a finalist for FCS defensive player of the year, the Buck Buchanan Award.

The AP FCS All-America team presented by Regions Bank is selected by a panel of media members and sports information directors in conjunction with COSIDA.

Montana State, which faces South Dakota State on Saturday in the FCS semifinals, was one five schools to place two players on the All-America first team. Andersen was joined by Bobcats offensive lineman Lewis Kidd.

Montana cornerback Justin Ford and kicker Brian Buschini were first-team selections.

Morehead State placed receiver BJ Byrd and defensive lineman Vaughn Taylor on the first team. Northern Iowa had a first-teamer on each line with Jared Brinkman on defense and Trevor Penning on offense.

Villanova had linebacker Forrest Rhyne and cornerback Christian Benford on the first team defense.

North Dakota State and James Madison, the other playoff semifinalists, tied for the most players chosen to the three teams with a total of four. Sam Houston State,  which entered the playoffs seeded No. 1 but was upset by Montana State last week, also had four players across the three teams.



Quarterback – Cole Kelley, senior, Southeastern Louisiana.

Running backs – Quay Holmes, senior, East Tennessee State; Pierre Strong, senior, South Dakota State.

Offensive linemen – Trevor Penning, junior, Northern Iowa; P.J. Burkhalter, senior, Nicholls State; Cordell Volson, senior, North Dakota State; Lewis Kidd, senior, Montana State; Braxton Jones, senior, Southern Utah.

Tight end – Kemari Averett, senior, Bethune-Cookman.

Receivers – Xavier Gipson, junior, Stephen F. Austin; BJ Byrd, senior, Morehead State; Jalyn Witcher, freshman, Presbyterian.

All-purpose player – Montrell Washington, senior, Samford.

Kicker – Ethan Ratke, senior, James Madison.


Linemen – Nate Lynn, senior, William & Mary; Vaughn Taylor, senior, Morehead State; Jared Brinkman, senior, Northern Iowa; Isaiah Chambers, senior, McNeese State.

Linebackers – Troy Andersen, senior, Montana State; Isaiah Land, junior, Florida A&M; Forrest Rhyne, senior, Villanova.

Defensive backs – Justin Ford, senior, Montana; Christian Benford, senior, Villanova; Darius Joiner, senior, Western Illinois; Johnathan Edwards, senior, Austin Peay; Decobie Durant, senior, South Carolina State.

Punter – Brian Buschini, sophomore, Montana.



Quarterback – Eric Barriere, senior, Eastern Washington.

Running backs – Geno Hess, senior, SE Missouri State; Isaiah Ifanse, junior, Montana State.

Offensive linemen – Cody Mauch, senior, North Dakota State; Michael Corbi, senior, Villanova; Matt Waletzko, senior, North Dakota; ZeVeyon Furcron, senior, Southern Illinois; Justin Redd, senior, Norfolk State.

Tight end – Tucker Kraft, sophomore, South Dakota State.

Receivers – Taylor Grimes, senior, Incarnate Word; Tyler Hudson, junior, Central Arkansas; Christian Watson, senior, North Dakota State.

All-purpose player – Jacob Saylors, senior, East Tennessee State.

Kicker – Jose Pizano, sophomore, Missouri State.


Linemen – Jahari Kay, senior, Sam Houston State; Devonnsha Maxwell, junior, Chattanooga; Josiah Silver, freshman, New Hampshire; Bryce Carter, senior, James Madison.

Linebackers – Patrick O’Connell, junior, Montana; Jacob Dobbs, junior, Holy Cross; James Houston, senior, Jackson State.

Defensive backs – Jordan Jones, junior, Rhode Island; Koby Perry, senior, Austin Peay; Brandon Dowdell, senior, Chattanooga; Devin Hafford, senior, Tarleton State; Montrae Braswell, sophomore, Missouri State.

Punter – Daniel Whelan, senior, UC Davis.



Quarterback – Cole Johnson, senior, James Madison.

Running backs – Ramon Jefferson, junior, Sam Houston State; Jaleel McLaughlin, junior, Youngstown State.

Offensive linemen – Tre’Mond Shorts, senior, East Tennessee State; Colby Thomas, senior, Sam Houston State; Jaylin Hendrix, senior, Central Arkansas; Cole Strange, senior, Chattanooga; Jake Guidone, senior, Dartmouth.

Tight end – Ryan Miller, senior, Furman.

Receivers – Dai’Jean Dixon, senior, Nicholls State; Dennis Houston, senior, Western Illinois; Caleb Snead, senior, Campbell.

All-purpose player – Xavier Shepherd, sophomore, Kennesaw State.

Kicker – Chris Campos, redshirt freshman, Stephen F. Austin.


Linemen – Brayden Thomas, senior, North Dakota State; Clay Patterson, sophomore, Yale; Brevin Allen, senior, Campbell; Josiah Erickson, senior, Sacramento State.

Linebackers – Kelechi Anyalebechi, senior, Incarnate Word; Matt Shotwell, senior, Cal Poly; David Hoage, sophomore, Northern Colorado.

Defensive backs – Markquese Bell, senior, Florida A&M; Zy Alexander, sophomore, Southeastern Louisiana; Zyon McCollum, senior, Sam Houston State; Clayborne Fields III, junior, Marist; Greg Ross, senior, James Madison.

Punter – Grant Burkett, sophomore, Missouri State.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Kizik Shoes Canada | Mephisto Shoes | Keen Canada | Oboz Boots | Chippewa Boots | Born Shoes | On Cloud Shoes | Oofos Canada | Keen Outlet | Bates Boots | Freebird Boots | Dolce Vita Boots | Georgia Boot | Sam Edelman Boots | Durango Boots | Propet Shoes | OOFOS Sandals | Womens Shoes Canada | Munro Shoes | Tory Burch Outlet | Tecovas Cowboy Boots | Beis Canada | Nordace Canada | Brunt Boots | Redback Boots | Nordace Backpack | Marc Jacobs Canada | Adams Shoes | Beis Luggage | Biaggi Luggage | Miz Mooz Canada | Oboz Shoes | White Mountain Shoes |